Skip to content

2015 Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme for International Students

    With over 3,500 beneficiaries of the Scholarship since its inception in 1986, the Department for International Development in collaboration with the Uninted Kingdom and the United Kingdom Universities decided to create this annual award to allow international Students access UK higher education. In 2014, a total of 69 UK Universities contributed the stipend that were awarded to the students for the Scholarship. The list of participating Universities for the 2015 session has been given in the 2015 CSS prospectus available at the official website of the Scholarship.

    Scholarship Description

    The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission together with its partnership bodies is offering the Commonwealth Scholarship Scheme (CSS) to international students to pursue various Master’s degree programs in UK Universities for 2015/2016 academic year.

    Qualified fields of Study: As stated above, only Master’s degree students are eligible for the Scholarship. Acceptable courses are those with very close relation to economics, social sciences and technology. The detailed list is provided in the CSS prospectus.


    Only students with the following profile are eligible for the Scholarship

    • Be a citizen of a commonwealth country or protected by the United Kingdom
    • Live permanently in a Commonwealth country
    • Hold a Bachelors degree with a minimum of Second class Upper by October 2015
    • Must be availble to commence study by September/October 2015
    • Have not studied in any developed country
    • Be financially limited to sponsor oneself for studies in the UK

    How Many Scholarships are available? Up to 227 scholarship position


    What Scholarship awardees stand to gain

    The Scholarship shall cover tuition fees, return ticket, allowances and stipends as offered by host University.

    Eligible Commonwealth Countries

    Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji*, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guineas, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania,Tonga,Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda,Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Zambia, Zimbabwe*

    Host Universities: The List of Host Universities can be found at the CSS prospectus downloadable at the official website.

    Application Deadline: All application ends by April 16th 2015

    Method of application

    To find application procedure, participating universities and eligible courses, applicants should download the Download 2015 Prospectus.

    All enquiries about Commonwealth Shared Scholarships should be directed to the university to which you wish to apply.

    To apply click here

    You cannot copy content of this page