Skip to content

2015-16 Japan Foundation PhD Scholarships for developing countries

    jpThe United Nations University Japan is now offering scholarships to Doctorate degree students from developing countries with limitation in finances, to pursue PhD programs in Sustainability Science. The scholarship which shall run for a maximum duration of 36 months shall be awarded only be awarded to applicants who have completed their master’s degree program, and have a minimum of two years working experience in UNU-IAS fields.

    Scholarship Description

    The Scholarship aims at preparing and equipping graduates with in-depth knowledge in Sustainability problems through an innovative approach, thus producing scholars that will be instrumental in the field of sustainability research. Scholars shall be put through thorough coursework and research to enhance their critical thinking ability.

    Scholarship funded by: Japan Foundation for UNU (JFUNU), Japan


    The following requirements is expected of the student to qualify for the Scholarship

    • Demonstrated interest in Sustainability studies
    • Must possess a Master’s degree in sustainability studies with at least two years working experience
    • Must have at least two master’s degree with one being in sustainability studies
    • Those awaiting their second master’s degree program before September 2015 can equally apply
    • A cumulative GPA of 3.5 on 4.0 scale in one of the master’s degree program
    • Written a test of English exam with a minimum of the following results

    TOEFL, Paper Based Test (PBT): 600

    TOEFL, Internet Based Test (IBT): 100

    IELTS: 7.0


    Eligible countries

    Applicant from the following target countries are eligible to apply

    Afghanistan, Gambia, Mozambique, Bangladesh , The Guinea, Myanmar, Benin, Guinea-Bissau, Nepal, Burkina Faso, Haiti, Niger, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Cambodia, Korea, Dem Rep., Sierra Leone, Central African Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Somalia, Liberia, Tajikistan, Comoros, Madagascar, Tanzania, Malawi, Togo, Congo, Dem. Rep, Eritrea, Mali, Uganda, Ethiopia , Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Albania, Indonesia, Samoa, Armenia, India, São Tomé and Principe, Belize, Iraq, Senegal, Bhutan, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Bolivia, Kosovo, South Sudan, Cameroon, Lao PDR, Sri Lanka, Cape Verde, Lesotho, Sudan, Congo, Rep., Marshall Islands, Swaziland, Côte d’Ivoire, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Syrian Arab Republic, Djibouti, Moldova, Timor-Leste, Egypt, Arab Rep., Mongolia, Tonga, El Salvador, Morocco, Ukraine, Fiji, Nicaragua, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Nigeria, Vanuatu, Ghana, Pakistan, Vietnam, Guatemala, Papua New Guinea, West Bank and Gaza, Guyana, Paraguay, Yemen, Rep., Honduras, Philippines, Zambia, Angola, Ecuador.

    Method of application

    There is no special application for the scholarship as all applicants who have applied for admission shall be automatically considered for the scholarship

    Deadline for application

    30th April 2015

    For more enquiries and downloading of scholarship application form, please visit the official website:

    Click here

    You cannot copy content of this page